Posted by: Lisa | March 12, 2009

Grains of Paradise

Over the years watching Good Eats, Alton Brown has introduced me to many different foodstuffs. Grains of paradise are just one of these unfamiliar foodstuffs. Since first learning of the little old school spice in “Okraphobia,” I’ve been trying to locate them.

Then AB added them to his apple pie in “Apple of My Pie” and again, I was hard pressed to locate this spice.

A week or so ago, my blogging buddy Terrie, who writes Feasting on Pixels blog, posted about these little guys. One of the great features of the post was a link to a place to purchase them online.

I immediately bought a jar. Merci beaucoup, Terrie. I hope that is correct, my French is limited. But I am so happy and thankful for your post on the Grains and the link to buy them. 🙂


Responses

  1. Wow…you got them very quickly…that place has great service, non…?The taste of Grains of Pradise is lovely, sweet, ethereal and very different.Aren’t you just the sweetest person to mention me and my blog. You know I was happy to help AB’s #1 fan in a very small way. We food bloggers must be support to each other.Only a few more days to see AB…I am so happy for you…give him my best from all of France…;))Merci mille fois chĂŞre amie…and of course you know French very well…mise-en-place is trĂ©s, trĂ©s Français…bisous…

  2. HI there!I wanted to share the site where I buy all of my spices, The Spice House they are located in Chicago and I cannot tell you how much my food has improved by using a higher quality spice! They indeed sell Grains of Paradise along with everything else. I even get Diamond Salt AB’s favorite there! Prices are great and it arrives super fast! http://WWW.THESPICEHOUSE.COMEnjoy!!!


Leave a comment

Categories